Wyoming Car Seat Laws 2022 (Rear, Forward & Booster)

Cheyenne Wyoming Capital City Downtown Capitol Building Legislat

Under the Wyoming car seat laws, a child passenger younger than 9 years of age must be secured in an appropriate child safety restraint system. They are exempt if they have a medical condition and the driver has a statement from a licensed physician to that effect. Violating the law carries a penalty. 

Disclaimer: The content in this article does not, in any manner, constitute legal advice. It is solely for the purpose of providing information. The law is amended from time to time and the information in this article may not always be up to date. We recommend you check the original source of the law.

Wyoming Car Seat Laws

Wyoming Rear-Facing Car Seat Law

According to the rear-facing car seat law in Wyoming, a rear-facing car seat should be placed in the backseat except when the vehicle has only one row of seats or all seatbelts at the back are occupied. It must never be placed in front of an active airbag. (1)

There is no express mention of when a child should ride in a rear-facing seat. The Wyoming Highway Patrol states that children should ride in an infant rear-facing seat till they are at least 1 year old and weigh at least 20 pounds. (2) 

The recommended rear-facing car seat age in Wyoming is 1 year. A violation of the Wyoming rear-facing child seat law will result in a fine of $50 the first time. It can be waived if you can prove that you have purchased a federally-approved child restraint. A second violation carries a penalty of $100. (3)

Age: Below 9 years (Recommended: Newborn to 1 year)
Penalty: $50 for the first offense, $100 for a subsequent offense.

Wyoming Forward-Facing Car Seat Law

According to the forward-facing car seat law in Wyoming, a child less than 9 years of age must be placed in a child safety system. (1) Children who have a medical condition that precludes them from being secured in a child restraint are exempt. 

The law does not expressly mention when to put a child in a forward-facing seat. Though the forward-facing car seat age in Wyoming is unclear, you can follow the guidelines of the Wyoming Highway Patrol. As per these, a child aged 1 to 4 years and weighing between 20 to 40 pounds should be placed in a forward-facing seat. (2) 

Once your child has overgrown the upper height and weight limits of the seat, you should replace the seat. Violating the Wyoming forward-facing child seat law carries a fine of $50 for the first offense and $100 for a subsequent offense. (3)

Age: Below 9 years (Recommended: 1 to 4 years)
Weight: n/a (Recommended: 20 to 40 pounds)
Penalty: $50 for the first offense, $100 for a subsequent offense.

Wyoming Booster Seat Law

There is no definite child booster seat law in Wyoming. The general car seat laws in Wyoming require all children under 9 years of age to be restrained in a car seat that is appropriate for their height and weight. (1)

As per the recommendations of the National Highway Transport Safety Administration (NHTSA), children aged 4 years and above should use a booster seat till the seat belt fits them properly. You can choose a high back or backless booster seat, based on your requirements. 

The booster seat age in Wyoming is not specific. The NHTSA recommends boosters for children aged 4 through 12 years. A child younger than 9 years is exempt from Wyoming booster seat requirements if the vehicle seat belt fits them properly. 

Disobeying the law carries a penalty of $50 for the first offense and $100 for a subsequent offense. (3)

Age: Below 9 years (Recommended: 4 to 12 years)
Penalty: $50 for the first offense, $100 for a subsequent offense.

Wyoming Child Front Seat Law

According to the child front seat law in Wyoming, all children younger than 9 years of age must be restrained in a child safety system in the backseat of the car. (1)

However, they can sit in the front seat if the vehicle only has one row of seats or if all the seatbelts in the back seat are occupied by other child passengers. A rear-facing seat must not be placed in front of an active airbag. 

The front seat age in Wyoming is 9 years. But the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommends that a child should sit in the back seat till at least 13 years of age.

They must be secured in an appropriate child restraint as per their height and weight requirements. Otherwise, there is a penalty of $50 for the first offense and $100 for a subsequent offense. (3)

Age: 9 years or above
Penalty: $50 for the first offense, $100 for a subsequent offense.

Wyoming Child Seat Belt Law

According to the child seat belt law in Wyoming, all children older than 9 years must wear a seat belt. A child younger than 9 years can also wear it if it fits properly across their lap and shoulders. (1)

Seat belt rules in Wyoming don’t apply to vehicles that are not equipped with seat belts under federal law, or did not originally have seat belts or US postal carriers. They also don’t apply if all other seat belts are occupied. (4) 

The adult safety belt must be properly fastened whether the child is in the front seat or the backseat. They must not pose a danger in case of a sudden stop. These requirements are essential under Wyoming children’s seat belt law. 

Not wearing a seatbelt will result in a citation and fine. The driver and passenger can be penalized a maximum of $25 and $10, respectively. 

Age: Under 12 years
Penalty: Maximum $25 for the driver, maximum $10 for a passenger.

Wyoming Taxi Child Seat Law

According to the taxi child seat law in Wyoming, taxis are exempt from having child passenger restraint. Taxis are commercial vehicles that transport people for hire. Wyoming child seat laws apply to non-commercial passenger vehicles. (1) Hence, taxis are not required to have child restraint. The taxi driver cannot be held responsible for not having a taxi child seat in Wyoming. 

Despite the exception, you should refer to the NHTSA recommendations and get a federally approved car seat for your child. If your child is younger than 9 years, they must ride in a suitable car seat. It will keep them safe in case of any sudden stop or crash. You can install the car seat in the taxi with the help of the driver. 

Wyoming Ridesharing Child Seat Law

There is no specific ridesharing child seat law in Wyoming. Under the Wyoming car seat regulations, a child under the age of 9 years must be restrained in a child safety system unless exempted due to a medical condition. (1) There is no mention of ridesharing services such as Uber and Lyft. But the driver of the vehicle is responsible to ensure the safety of the children. 

The law does not mention who should provide the child seat. In such a scenario, it is best for either the driver or the parent/caregivers to provide a car seat that is appropriate for the child. If the child passenger is not properly restrained, the driver will be fined $50 the first time and $100 the second time. (3)

Wyoming Child Seat Replacement Law

There is no express child seat replacement law in Wyoming. The NHTSA recommends child seat replacement after an accident. This especially holds weight if your vehicle is involved in a moderate or severe accident in Wyoming. This is because the car seat may have defects that are not easily visible. 

In case of a low-impact accident, there is no urgent need to replace the child safety seat. A crash is said to be a low-impact one when no passenger sustains injuries, the airbags didn’t deploy, there was no damage to the car seat, and the vehicle could be driven away from the crash site.

You must also replace the car seat after it has passed its expiry date stated by the manufacturer or your child has outgrown it. 

Leaving Child in The Car in Wyoming

There is no law on leaving a child in a vehicle in Wyoming. The AAP has highlighted the dangers of leaving a child unattended in a vehicle. They may suffer heatstroke, get kidnapped or trapped in the vehicle, or set the vehicle in motion. Power windows and seat belts also pose a risk.

Heatstroke is the most common danger. The temperature inside the vehicle can rise quickly, due to which the child may suffer heatstroke. This can cause severe brain injury or even death. 

While leaving a child in the car in Wyoming is not illegal, it is a dangerous practice. If the child is injured, the adult responsible for the act can face serious legal consequences such as child endangerment or child neglect. Thus, you must never leave a child alone in the car, even for a small duration. 

Choosing a Child Car Seat in Wyoming

You should refer to the Wyoming Highway Patrol when choosing a car seat in Wyoming. (2) For children younger than 1 year, a rear-facing infant seat is the best car seat to use in Wyoming.

Once the child outgrows it, you can place them in a forward-facing seat with a harness. 

As per the child seat requirements in Wyoming, young children should be placed in a booster seat. You can either choose a backless or a high-back booster seat to protect the child’s head.

Both these seats are used with lap and shoulder belts. A versatile all-in-one seat may be the best booster seat to use in Wyoming. 

Car Seat Installation Help in Wyoming

Under the Wyoming state law, a child safety restraint must be used properly according to the manufacturer’s instructions. (3) It has to be properly installed or else the person will be penalized.

Installing the car seat can be difficult. Even if you have installed it, you should get it inspected by a certified child passenger safety (CPS) technician. Following are some of the stations where you can get it checked:

Wyoming Car Seat Safety Resources

For more information on child passenger safety seats in Wyoming, you can refer to the following:

FAQ

How long should a child ride in a rear-facing car seat in Wyoming?

There is no legal age. But a child should ride rear-facing till they are at least 1 year old and weigh at least 20 pounds. 

Can you put a rear-facing car seat in the front seat in Wyoming?

You can put a rear-facing car seat in the front seat only if the vehicle does not have a backseat or if all seat belts in the backseat are occupied. 

Can you put a rear-facing car seat in the middle rear seat in Wyoming?

You can put a rear-facing car seat in the middle rear seat only if it fits properly. You must go through the car seat as well as your vehicle’s manuals.

When can a baby face forward in a car seat in Wyoming?

The law is silent. But a baby can face forward in a car seat after they turn 1 year old and have outgrown their rear-facing seat. 

How old for a booster seat in Wyoming?

There is no particular age stated in the law. But a child can use a booster seat once they have outgrown their forward-facing car seat. 

When to use a backless booster seat in Wyoming?

You can use a backless booster seat if your vehicle seat has a headrest and the child’s ears are not higher than the seat back. 

When can a child sit in the front seat in Wyoming?

A child can sit in the front seat after they turn 9 years old or when the lap and shoulder seat belt fits properly across their collarbone, chest, and hips.

When can a child sit in the front seat with a booster in Wyoming?

Children in booster seats should ride in the back. But if there is no backseat or all backseat seat belts are occupied, they can ride in the front seat. 

When can a child stop using a booster seat in Wyoming?

A child can stop using a booster once they turn 9 years old or have outgrown their booster seat and can safely wear the adult safety belt. 

When to switch from 5 point harness to a seat belt in Wyoming?

The ideal time is when the child outgrows the 5-point harness in a forward-facing seat. They can then switch to wearing a seatbelt in a booster seat. 

When can a child use a regular seat belt in Wyoming?

A child can use a regular seat belt once they are 9 years old or when the lap and shoulder seat belt fits properly across their collarbone, chest, and hips.

Do you need a car seat in a taxi in Wyoming?

Taxis are exempt from Wyoming car seat laws. But it is better for the parent/caregiver to carry an appropriate car seat when traveling with a child in a taxi. 

Do you need a car seat in a Uber in Wyoming?

The law is unclear. But either the caregiver or the driver should provide a federally approved and appropriate car seat to ensure the child’s safety. 

Do you need a car seat in a Lyft in Wyoming?

The law does not say anything. But it is better if the caregiver or driver can provide an appropriate car seat to ensure the child’s safety.

Similar Posts