Arizona Car Seat Laws 2022 (Rear, Forward & Booster)

arizona

As per Arizona car seat laws, all children who are less than 8 years of age and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches have to be restrained in a child restraint system that meets federal safety standards. The operator of the motor vehicle will be fined $50 for violating this law. 

Disclaimer: This content does not constitute legal advice. It is solely for informational purposes. Always check the original source of the law for the latest version.

Arizona Car Seat Laws

Arizona Rear-Facing Car Seat Law

There is no specific rear-facing car seat law in Arizona. Car seat laws in Arizona state that a child under 5 years of age must be restrained in an appropriate child passenger safety system. (1)

The Arizona Governor’s Office of Highway Safety (GOHS) recommends that an infant under 2 years old should travel in a rear-facing seat. (2) It is the smallest seat that can safely transport a baby. 

Since there is no Arizona rear-facing child seat law, the rear-facing car seat age in Arizona is not mentioned. But officials recommend that children ride in a rear-facing car seat until the age of 2 years. The car seat must never be placed in front of an active airbag. 

A violation of the will attract a civil penalty of $50. 

Age: Newborn to 2 years (recommended)
Penalty: $50

Arizona Forward-Facing Car Seat Law

There is no express forward-facing car seat law in Arizona. Children under 5 years of age have to be properly secured in a child restraint system that meets federal motor vehicle safety standards. (1) 

In the absence of an Arizona forward-facing child seat law, it is best to refer to the best practices recommended by the Arizona GOHS. (2)

Though the forward-facing car seat age in Arizona is absent, the GOHS recommends that children between the ages of 2 to 5 years ride in a forward-facing seat with a harness.

Once they surpass the maximum height and weight limits of the seat, they can move to a booster seat. 

A violation of Arizona child seat laws carries a civil penalty of $50. It can be avoided if you can show that you have acquired a car seat. 

Age: 2 to 5 years
Penalty: $50

Arizona Booster Seat Law

According to the child booster seat law in Arizona, children older than 5 years but less than 8 years and shorter than 4’9” must be restrained in a booster seat. (1)  It can be a high-back as well as a backless booster seat. 

The booster seat age in Arizona is 5 to 8 years. There are no prescribed height or weight limits. 

The above Arizona booster seat requirements do not apply to a person transporting a child in a medical emergency or to the operator of an authorized emergency vehicle. They also do not apply to a person who is transporting more than one child below 8 years of age and a reasonable number of children are secured as per the law. 

A violation of the above Arizona car seat regulations will be fined $50.

Age: 5 to 8 years
Height: Shorter than 4’9”
Penalty: $50

Arizona Child Front Seat Law

There is no clear child front seat law in Arizona. But the Arizona GOHS recommends keeping children younger than 12 years in the backseat for as long as practical. (2) This is in line with the recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) that recommends that kids sit in the back seat till at least 13 years of age. 

While an explicit front seat age in Arizona is missing, a child older than 12 years can ride in the front seat. They must wear a seat belt if they are taller than 4’9”. A younger child must be placed in a child passenger safety system that is appropriate for their height and weight requirements. If you are traveling with a rear-facing car seat, make sure to deactivate the front passenger-side airbag. 

Age: 12 years and older (recommended) 

Arizona Child Seat Belt Law

According to the child seat belt law in Arizona, all children between the ages of 8 to 16 years must wear a seat belt. (3) The operator is responsible for ensuring that children under 16 years old are properly secured whether they are in the front seat or the backseat.

As per Arizona state law, children who are at least 4’9” in height can wear an adult safety belt. It should fit properly over their shoulders and thighs. Each violation of the requirements under Arizona children’s seat belt law will be fined a maximum $10. 

Seat belt rules in Arizona do not apply to a letter carrier of the US postal service while on duty. Additionally, a person who carries a written statement from a physician or registered nurse practitioner certifying a medical or psychological condition will not be penalized for not wearing a seat belt. 

Age: 8 to 16 years
Height: 4’9” or taller
Penalty: Maximum $10 for each violation

Arizona Taxi Child Seat Law

According to the taxi child seat law in Arizona, taxis are required to have a car seat. They are not exempt from the law. The motor vehicle operator has the duty to ensure that a child passenger is safely restrained. (1) Therefore, you need a car seat in a taxi. 

The law does not state if drivers need to provide a taxi child seat in Arizona. In such a scenario, you should carry your own car seat when traveling with your child in a taxi. It should meet the applicable federal safety standards and be appropriate for your child’s age and height.

You should install it in the taxi as per the manufacturer’s instructions. You can also ask the driver for assistance with understanding the relevant vehicle parts. 

Arizona Ridesharing Child Seat Law

There is no clear ridesharing child seat law in Arizona. As per the child seat requirements in Arizona, children under the age of 8 and shorter than 4’9” have to be secured in an appropriate child restraint. (1) 

The law is clear that the vehicle operator will be liable for securing a child. However, it does not say if it applies to ridesharing services such as Uber and Lyft. Nor does it specify who should provide a child seat.  

In such cases, it is safer for either the driver or the caregivers to carry a car seat. A rideshare driver can carry an all-in-one seat that can accommodate all children. Or as a caregiver, you can carry your own seat. You should check with the driver about the type of vehicle and how to install the car seat correctly. 

Arizona Child Seat Replacement Law

There is no explicit child seat replacement law in Arizona. In this case, it is best to follow the recommendations of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). 

If your car is involved in a moderate or severe accident in Arizona, you must replace the child safety seat. It may have defects not visible to the eye. However, if your vehicle suffered a low-impact accident, there is no need to automatically replace the car seat. A low-impact minor crash is one that satisfies all five conditions prescribed by the NHTSA.

Apart from child seat replacement after an accident, you must replace it if it has passed the expiration date stated by the manufacturer or your child has outgrown it. Another instance when you need to replace the car seat is if it has been recalled. 

Leaving Child in The Car in Arizona

There is currently no law on leaving a child in a vehicle in Arizona. However, the act of leaving a child unattended in a vehicle is dangerous. The most prominent danger is the child suffering from a heat stroke.

Children’s bodies heat up more quickly than adults. Arizona summers are especially very hot. Hence, heat stroke can significantly endanger children’s safety. They can also have an in-car accident, set the car in motion if it is running, or be kidnapped. 

Even though leaving a child in the car in Arizona is technically not illegal, you should be very careful. A child must not be left in the car, even for a minute. You can be charged under stricter sections such as child endangerment or neglect.  

Choosing a Child Car Seat in Arizona

You can follow the NHTSA recommendations when choosing a car seat in Arizona. Children less than 2 years old must be kept rear-facing. For them, an infant rear-facing seat is the best car seat to use in Arizona.

They are usually designed for babies weighing 20-35 pounds. There are also convertible seats that can be used as rear-facing and later forward-facing seats. 

The best booster seat to use in Arizona is one that allows the lap and shoulder belt to fit snugly across your child’s thighs and shoulders. You can choose either a backless or a high-back booster seat, depending on your vehicle seat type. 

Car Seat Installation Help in Arizona

Child passenger safety seats in Arizona have to be installed as per the federal safety standards applicable to child restraints. However, it is not easy to install a car seat all by yourself.

For the complete safety of your child, it is important to get your car seat installed/checked by a certified child passenger safety (CPS) technician. There are various inspection sites in Arizona where you can get your car seat installed or inspected. These are:

Arizona Car Seat Safety Resources

  • Arizona Governor of Highway Safety: The Buckle Up campaign by Arizona GOHS contains information about car seat laws as well as safety tips for different types of car seats. 
  • Tucson Medical Center: A leading hospital in Tucson, it contains videos and documents for child passenger safety and the installation of car seats.
  • City of Maricopa: It informs families about when children can use a particular type of car seat and how to safely install the seats in your vehicle. 
  • Banner Health: A leading non-profit healthcare system, it contains vital information about installing car seats, how to correctly use them and the type of seat to secure your child in. 

FAQ

How long should a child ride in a rear-facing car seat in Arizona?

There is nothing mentioned directly in the law. But it is recommended that a child should ride in a rear-facing car seat till the age of 2 years. 

Can you put a rear-facing car seat in the front seat in Arizona?

The law does not explicitly prohibit it but it is best to put a rear-facing car seat in the back. If you do put it in front, ensure that the front seat airbag is deactivated. 

Can you put a rear-facing car seat in the middle rear seat in Arizona?

You can put a rear-facing car seat in the middle rear seat but it must fit properly. You must go through the car seat as well as your vehicle’s manuals.

When can a baby face forward in a car seat in Arizona?

The law doesn’t specifically mention anything. But the NHTSA recommends that a baby can face forward once they outgrow the height and weight limits of their rear-facing seat.

How old for a booster seat in Arizona?

As per the booster seat law in Arizona, children older than 5 years but younger than 8 years and shorter than 4’9” should travel in booster seats.

When to use a backless booster seat in Arizona?

You can use a backless booster seat if your vehicle seat has a head rest and the child’s ears are not higher than the seat back. 

When can a child sit in the front seat with a booster in Arizona?

Ideally, children in a booster should ride in the back seat. If necessary, the booster seat can be placed in front but the seat’s airbag must be deactivated.

When can a child stop using a booster seat in Arizona?

Once the child is 8 years old or taller than 4’9”, they can stop riding in a booster seat and start using the safety belt.

When can a child sit in the front seat in Arizona?

There is no specific age. But the Arizona GOHS recommends that it is safe for children under 12 years of age to ride in the backseat. 

When to switch from 5 point harness to a seat belt in Arizona?

When the child outgrows the height and weight limits of their 5-point harness, they can switch to wearing a seat belt in a booster seat. 

When can a child use a regular seat belt in Arizona?

As per the law, when the child turns 8 years old or is at least 4’9” tall (regardless of age), they can use a regular seat belt.

Do you need a car seat in a taxi in Arizona?

Yes, you need a car seat in a taxi in Arizona. You should check with the driver or carry your own car seat when traveling in a taxi. 

Do you need a car seat in a Uber in Arizona?

The law is not clear on this issue. But either the caregiver or the driver should provide a federally approved and appropriate car seat to ensure the child’s safety. 

Do you need a car seat in a Lyft in Arizona?

The law is unclear. But either the caregiver or the driver should provide a federally approved and appropriate car seat to ensure the child’s safety.

Similar Posts